Travel: RIU Montego Bay Review

I stayed at RIU Montego Bay recently for one night when in the second city for an event. I’ve stayed at RIU Montego Bay several times and never had an exceptional experience. This time however, I had an exceptional room! And for me, the room is 90% of the reason to book a hotel.

I stayed in room 6025 which is on the furthest block of rooms at the property. That meant a long walk to and from breakfast, but it meant a very quiet area of the resort, which I appreciated.

Now I didn’t even know that RIU had rooms like this. If you’ve ever seen pictures of Secrets Resorts, you’ll find these rooms to be similar in layout. First of all the room was huge! If you’re travelling with family this room is PERFECT! There was a living room area with a couch bed and a spacious bathroom equipped with a pretty big tub. I could go on and on describing the room but instead decided to take you all on a room tour. Just watch the video to see the room for yourself! (and please don’t judge my shaky camera skills, I tried my best)

The best part about this room however was its proximity to the beach…. literally just steps away. I went for a morning stroll on the beach and to take shots of my travel essentials before checking out. There is one drawback to the beach though. With the new Sandals Royal Caribbean over the water bungalows, the horizon is now a big Sandals advertisement and a much less relaxing beach experience. Nevertheless, if you’re staying at RIU Montego Bay, ask for a suite like and be sure to sink your toes in the soft white sand.

~

 

If you’re new to my blog, hi! Stop by my About page for a little more information on me.

 

Leave a Reply

